ACC Academic Leaders Network

The ACC Academic Leaders Network (ACC ALN) is designed to facilitate cross-institutional networking and collaboration among academic leaders while building leadership capacity for the participating institutions. The ACC ALN builds upon existing campus programs by creating distinctive learning opportunities while capitalizing on networking and collaborative opportunities to further develop our leaders along a range of dimensions, in ways that no single university can accomplish on its own.

Five faculty leaders from each member institution participate in the program and can expect to 

  • Continue to grow in leadership effectiveness with other academic leaders at various levels in the participating universities 
  • Leverage the network to build and develop cross-institutional communities of practice 
  • Build relationships and network with other participants in ways that leverage inter- institutional contacts for the benefit of all 
  • Gain practical insight into emerging trends and the broader landscape of higher education 
  • Broaden awareness of higher education leadership needs and challenges in a setting that provides exposure to multiple disciplines, organizational roles, and organizational structures 

Learn more about the 2024 program here

2024 ACC ALN Fellows
  • Gulsah Akar, Professor and Chair, School of City and Regional Planning, College of Design
  • Elizabeth Cherry, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, School of Computational Science and Engineering, College of Computing
  • Javier Irizarry, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Outreach, College of Design
  • Kyriaki Kalaitzidou, Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Professor and Associate Chair for Faculty Development, School of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Lewis Wheaton, Professor and Director of C-PIES, School of Biological Sciences, College of Sciences
Past Fellows

Alessandro Orso, College of Computing, School of Computer Science
Laura Cadonati, College of Sciences, School of Physics
Jason Freeman, College of Design, School of Music
Karen Glover, Library
Aaron Levine, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, School of Public Policy

Pamela Bhatti, College of Engineering, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Michelle Rinehart, College of Design, School of Architecture
Jake Soper, College of Sciences, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Marla Bruner, Provost's Office, Graduate and Postdoctoral Education
Robert Butera, Office of the Executive Vice President for Research
Daniel Castro, College of Design, School of Building Construction
Steven Girardot, Provost's Office, Office of Undergraduate Education
Steve Harmon, GTPE

Julia Kubanek, College of Sciences, School of Biological Sciences
Pablo Laguna, College of Sciences, School of Physics
Leslie Sharp, Provost's Office, Graduate Education and Faculty Development
Anna Stenport, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, School of Modern Langauges
Don Webster, College of Engineering, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering